5th Palermo title for Madina Garrigues, Martinez Sanchez wins Gastein ladies title

5th title for Madina Garrigues at Internazionali Femminili di Tennis de Palermo

Anabel Medina Garrigues defeated Polona Hercog of Slovenia 6-3, 6-2 to win the Palermo Open for the fifth time (2001, 2004 to 2006, and 2011). She now holds the record for most clay-court titles (10th) among active players.


Italians Sara Errani and Roberta Vinci won their fifth WTA doubles title together, beating Czech pairing Andrea Hlavackova and Klara Zakopalova 7-5, 6-1.

Martinez Sanchez wins NURNBERGER Gastein ladies title

Maria Jose Martinez Sanchez defeated Austrian wild card Patricia Mayr-Archleitner 6-0, 7-5 in the final of the Gastein Ladies to win her fourth career title.

In the doubles, Eva Birnerova and Lucie Hradecka came back from set down to defeat Julia Goerges and Jarmila Gajdosova 4-6, 6-2, 12-10.

pics @ WTA



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: