Williams, Clijsters into semis

Defending champion Kim Clijsters won her 19 consecutive victories at the U.S. Open by passing over French Open runner-up Sam Stosur of Australia 6-4, 5-7, 6-3.

“After the match, I was like, ‘How did I win this?’ I
didn’t feel like I was playing well” Clijsters said.
“so I was just kind of talking to my coach and fitness
coach and just (saying), ‘Wow. What just happened? How
did I win?”
“Windiest conditions I’ve played in all week, and probably the worst I’ve served all week, as well,” Stosur said.

Third seed Venus Williams outlasting French Open Champion Francesca Schiavone 7-6 (7/5), 6-4 to reach the semi-finals.

090810 / US Open
Leave a Reply

