Azarenka retired, suffered a mild concussion

Trainers assist Azanrenka, at 3-0 down againts Dulko.

Victoria Azarenka collapsed on the court, with Gisela Dulko up 5-1 in the first set.

See vids . . .

Victoria Azarenka

Azarenka statement about the collapse.  I was warming up in the gym prior to my match against Gisela Dulko when I fell while running a sprint.   I fell forward and hit my arm and head.
I was checked by the medical team before I went on court and they were courtside for monitoring.
I felt worse as the match went on, having a headache and feeling dizzy. I also started having trouble seeing and felt weak before I fell.   I was taken to the hospital for some medical tests and have been diagnosed with a mild concussion.”

“It was terrible. It’s not nice to see someone feeling bad, not nice to win a match this way. I hope she feels OK now,” said Dulko, “I was worried for her.”

090110 / US Open

Leave a Reply

