Kuznetsova wins the Mercury Insurance Open

Svetlana Kuznetsova overcame mid-match nerves to win against Agnieszka Radwanska 6-4 6-7 6-3 for the Mercury Insurance Open presented by Tri-Medical Center title.

“I think I did choke for the very first time in my life,” Kuznetsova said. “I never had this choke before. I don’t know why it happened. Here I couldn’t make a ball.”

“After a match like this, it’s always disappointing when it’s a long, very tough match,” Radwanska said. “I think it’s much easier to lose 6-1, 6-1 and have no chance. But if it’s a match like this, it hurts.”

No.4 seeds Maria Kirilenko and Zheng Jie upsets No.2 seeds Lisa Raymond and Rennae Stubbs in the final of Mercury Insurance Open, 64 64.

080810 / Mercury Insurance Open presented by Tri-Medical Center

Leave a Reply

