Li wins Aegon Classic title, beating Sharapova

Top-seeded Li Na beat Maria Sharapova 7-5, 6-1 to win the grass-court Aegon Classic and claim her first title this year.

“Last year I beat Maria in the semifinals, and then was so excited I forgot I had another match,” Li said.  “I’m excited again.  If I had another match this time, I think I would probably lose that, too.”

“I came here to get as many matches as I could, and I did,”  Sharapova said.  “It’s nice to win the tournament, but sometimes it doesn’t happen.”

In doubles:

The No.2 seeds Cara Black and Lisa Raymond took the doubles title with victory over the No.1 seeds Liezel Huber and Bethanie Mattek-Sands.  After claiming the first set 6-3, the lower seeds were 3-2 up in the second set before the American pairing retired.

061310 / Aegon Classic

Leave a Reply

