Schiavone beats Stosur to win French Open

“Everybody has the chance to be who you really want to be, and do everything in your life,” Schiavone said. “This is what has happened to me.”

If kisses the court will give you a Grand Slam . . . I think all players should do this (lol), it is worthed i guess she wins.

“I felt an energy from inside that I couldn’t even control. It was so big. And to tell the truth, I still have it,” she said, more than two hours after the match’s conclusion. “I could go run 20 kilometers (12 miles) to get it out of my system.”

She turns 30 this month, making her the oldest woman since 1969 to win her first Grand Slam championship. Schiavone will rise to a career-best No. 6 in the WTA rankings, making her the oldest woman since 1998 to make her top-10 debut.

Italy's Francesca Schiavone finally wins a Grand Slam, beating Australia's Samantha Stosur 6-4, 7-6(2).

“I still don’t think I played that bad. She just had her day. She went for it, and everything came off,” Stosur said. “It takes guts to do that.”

060510 / French Open

Leave a Reply

