Stosur stunned Jankovic, Dementieva retired Schiavone into finals

Australian Samantha Stosur stunned Serbian Jelena Jankovic 6-1 6-2.

“To be honest, she has almost the game of a man,” Jankovic describe Stosur.
“When I look at how the men play, she has a very good kick (serve), which not many women have. It’s very heavy spin.
This is Stosur first grand slam singles final.

Francesca Schiavone (17) def. Elena Dementieva (5) 7-6 (7-3) retired

First set then it was over . . .
“And for 10 seconds,  many seconds,  I didn’t realize.  Then when she shook my hand I knew it was finished,”  she added.  “Then my mind realised where I was.”

Francesca Schiavone became the first Italian woman ever to reach a Grand Slam final by defeating Elena Dementieva in the semi-finals.

Tearful Dementieva retired beacuse of calf injury on her left leg.

“I am not sure if I will be able to play at Wimbledon,”  Dementieva told reporters.  “I am not going to (the WTA event in) Eastbourne because of the injury.”
“Today it was just a sharp pain. It was a bit too much. I couldn’t really move on the court.”
“It’s very painful to even walk,” she said. “I got it after my second match and I aggravated it.
“But what can I do? Injuries are part of the game and this is how it is. I cannot change anything.”
She first suffered the problem to her left calf in a second-round win over Anabel Medina Garrigues of Spain and tried everything to recover for her meeting with Schiavone.

Hoping  for you quick recovery…


060310 / French Open

Leave a Reply

