Verdasco wins Barcelona Open, beat Soderling

“I wasn’t planning to play this week so you can imagine my feelings right now. It’s incredible,” Verdasco Said. “At the last minute they convinced me to come and now I’m lifting the trophy so thanks to all of them.”

Fernando Verdasco of Spain beat Robin Soderling of Sweden 6-3, 4-6, 6-3 to win the Barcelona Open final.

“Everything you can win gives you confidence and this tournament is very special for me, as it is for all the Spaniards. But what I achieved last week and this is going to help me a lot in terms of confidence and experience. Having played in last week’s final was a help to me today.”

Top seeds Nenad Zimonjic and Daniel Nestor have become the first team in 27 years to defend their Barcelona Open beating Lleyton Hewitt and Mark Knowles.

042510 / Barcelona Open

Leave a Reply

