Dementieva at last, beats Safarova for Open GDF Suez title

“In a match, there is no time to think negative,” she said. “You have to fight until the end.”

Why was it so important for you to win here?
I was very emotional at the end of the match because, as you know, I’ve wanted to win here for a long time now.  And I’ve been so close the last past years, it was important for me to win.  Plus, I was lucky to have the crowd on my side this time.  Everyone was behind my opponent in the final last year. It was really strange.  But I was happy to see her today at the ceremony.   …more

gaz-de-france-021410-dementieva_safarova

Top-seeded Elena Dementieva rallied to beat Lucie Safarova 6-7 (5), 6-1, 6-4 Sunday in the Open GDF Suez final to win her second title this season.

Safarova and Dementieva poses with Mauresmo (last year winner) during Open GDF Suez final.

The doubles final have been cancelled, following the withdrawal of Cara Black (health reasons) and Liezel Huber, Czech pair Iveta Benesova and Barbora Zahlavova Strycov are this year's trophy winners.


021410 / Open GDF Suez

Leave a Reply

