Doha YEC’s Order of Play – Sunday, November 1, 2009 / Result Day 5

Sunday, November 1, 2009 – Centre Court (from 18.00hrs)

Singles – Final
(7) Venus Williams (USA) vs. (2) Serena Williams (USA)

Doubles – Final
(1) Cara Black (ZIM)/Liezel Huber (USA) vs. Nuria Llagostera Vives/María José Martínez Sánchez (ESP)

Latest Results – Saturday, October 31, 2009

Singles – Semifinals
(7) Venus Williams (USA) d. (8) Jelena Jankovic (SRB) 5-7, 6-3, 6-4
(2) Serena Williams (USA) d. (4) Caroline Wozniacki (DEN) 6-4, 0-1 ret. (left abdominal strain)

Doubles – Semifinals
(1) Cara Black (ZIM)/Liezel Huber (USA) d. Samantha Stosur/Rennae Stubbs (AUS) 3-6, 7-6(3), 10-8
Nuria Llagostera Vives/María José Martínez Sánchez (ESP) d. (2) Serena Williams/Venus Williams (USA) 2-6, 6-4, 10-8

ROUND ROBIN GROUP STANDINGS

(match won/lost : set won/lost)

White Group
1. Jelena Jankovic (2-1 : 4-2)
2. Caroline Wozniacki (2-1 : 4-4)
3. Victoria Azarenka (1-1 : 3-2)
4. Agnieszka Radwanska (1-0 : 2-1)

OUT Vera Zvonareva (0-1 : 1-2) (right ankle injury)
OUT Dinara Safina (0-1 : 0-2) (low back injury)

Maroon Group
1. Serena Williams (3-0 : 6-1)
2. Venus Williams (1-2 : 4-5)
3. Svetlana Kuznetsova (1-2 : 3-4)
4. Elena Dementieva (1-2 : 2-5)

Doha 103109 - Venus

“In the first set, I couldn’t feel the ball,” Venus said. “Just to come back … to play so well against such a consistent player is great.” Venus Williams defeated Jelena Jankovic 5-7, 6-3, 6-4.

Jelena Jankovic reacts after losing to Venus Williams 5-7, 6-3, 6-4 at their semi-final match. “That will be my goal, to get up there to the top again,” Jankovic said. “I have the ability to do that.”

Jelena Jankovic reacts after losing to Venus Williams 5-7, 6-3, 6-4 at their semi-final match. “That will be my goal, to get up there to the top again,” Jankovic said. “I have the ability to do that.”

Doha 103109 - SWILLIAMS

“She’s been struggling throughout the entire tournament,” Serena said. “She’s just an incredible fighter to come out here today and put up an effort.”

Doha 103109 -WILLIAMS-WOZNIACKI

Serena Williams won when Caroline Wozniacki quit because of an abdominal injury while trailing 6-4, 0-1.

Doha - 103109 - Wozniacki

"I could either smile or I could cry, and I chose to smile. There's nothing else you can do. I had a great year. I did all I could. I used all my strength I had left, but today, I just didn't have any more left," said Wozniacki.

103109 / SonyEricssonChampionship-Doha

Leave a Reply

