Doha YEC’s Order of Play – Saturday, October 31, 2009 / Result Day 4

Singles / Doubles – Centre Court (from 14.00hrs)
1. Cara Black/Liezel Huber vs. Samantha Stosur/Rennae Stubbs
2. Venus Williams vs. Jelena Jankovic (NB 16.30hrs)
3. Serena Williams vs. Caroline Wozniacki
4. Nuria Llagostera Vives/María José Martínez Sánchez vs. Serena Williams/Venus Williams  (NB 19.30hrs; after suitable rest)

Latest Resulst – Friday, October 30, 2009
Singles – Round Robin

WHITE GROUP
(8) Jelena Jankovic (SRB) d. (4) Caroline Wozniacki (DEN) 62 62
(10) Agnieszka Radwanska (POL) d. (6) Victoria Azarenka (BLR) 46 75 41 ret. (cramping)

MAROON GROUP
(3) Svetlana Kuznetsova (RUS) d. (5) Elena Dementieva (RUS) 63 62

ROUND ROBIN GROUP STANDINGS

(match won/lost : set won/lost)

White Group
1. Jelena Jankovic (2-1 : 4-2)
2. Caroline Wozniacki (2-1 : 4-4)
3. Victoria Azarenka (1-1 : 3-2)
4. Agnieszka Radwanska (1-0 : 2-1)

OUT Vera Zvonareva (0-1 : 1-2) (right ankle injury)
OUT Dinara Safina (0-1 : 0-2) (low back injury)

Maroon Group
1. Serena Williams (3-0 : 6-1)
2. Venus Williams (1-2 : 4-5)
3. Svetlana Kuznetsova (1-2 : 3-4)
4. Elena Dementieva (1-2 : 2-5)

Doha 103009 - Jankovic

"I didn't know what to expect from Caroline today. I watched her play yesterday and saw what happened," Jankovic said. "I just knew I had to win this one. I wanted to play aggressively and dictate points, and not get into the long points, which I know she's really good at."

Jelena Jankovic of Serbia celebrates after winning against Denmark's Caroline Wozniacki 6-2, 6-2.

Jelena Jankovic of Serbia celebrates after winning against Denmark's Caroline Wozniacki 6-2 ,6-2.

Doha 103009 - Wozniacki

"I didn't have anything left. I couldn't play like I wanted to," the Dane said. "I definitely feel like I deserve to make it to the semis, but I did everything I could, and I fought the best I could. If I don't get there, it's just bad luck. It's the way it's supposed to be. I still have many more years in front of me."

Doha 103009 -  zarenka_radwanska

Victoria Azarenka retired from their singles match due to cramp against Agnieszka Radwanska of Poland. 4-6, 7-5, 4-1 ret.

Doha - RADWANSKA 103009

"I was very happy I had the same chance like last year to play at least one match as an alternate," Radwanska said. "Caroline and I are best friends. I think I just gave her a great present and I'm very happy about that."

Doha 103009  Azarenka

Victoria Azarenka of Belarus reacts as she is treated for cramp during her singles match against Agnieszka Radwanska of Poland

Doha - 103009 Kuznetsova

Svetlana Kuznetsova of Russia waves after winning her singles match against Elena Dementieva of Russia 6-3, 6-2. "There was still a lot to lose today," Kuznetsova said. "Doesn't matter if I don't qualify. There are ranking points, prize money, everything... it's still a lot. When I go on court, I bring my name. I definitely don't want to lose, no matter what.

Svetlana Kuznetsova’s 6-3, 6-2 win over Elena Dementieva.

Elena Dementieva

103009 / SonyEricssonChampionship-Doha

Singles / Doubles – Centre Court (from 14.00hrs)
1. Cara Black/Liezel Huber vs. Samantha Stosur/Rennae Stubbs
2. Venus Williams vs. Jelena Jankovic (NB 16.30hrs)
3. Serena Williams vs. Caroline Wozniacki
4. Nuria Llagostera Vives/María José Martínez Sánchez vs. Serena Williams/Venus Williams  (NB 19.30hrs; after suitable rest)Latest Resulst – Friday, October 30, 2009Singles – Round Robin

WHITE GROUP
(8) Jelena Jankovic (SRB) d. (4) Caroline Wozniacki (DEN) 62 62
(10) Agnieszka Radwanska (POL) d. (6) Victoria Azarenka (BLR) 46 75 41 ret. (cramping)

MAROON GROUP
(3) Svetlana Kuznetsova (RUS) d. (5) Elena Dementieva (RUS) 63 62

ROUND ROBIN GROUP STANDINGS
(match won/lost : set won/lost)
White Group
1. Jelena Jankovic (2-1 : 4-2)
2. Caroline Wozniacki (2-1 : 4-4)
3. Victoria Azarenka (1-1 : 3-2)
4. Agnieszka Radwanska (1-0 : 2-1)

OUT Vera Zvonareva (0-1 : 1-2) (right ankle injury)
OUT Dinara Safina (0-1 : 0-2) (low back injury)

Maroon Group
1. Serena Williams (3-0 : 6-1)
2. Venus Williams (1-2 : 4-5)
3. Svetlana Kuznetsova (1-2 : 3-4)
4. Elena Dementieva (1-2 : 2-5)

Leave a Reply

