Doha YEC’s Order of Play – Wednesday, October 28, 2009 / Result Day 1

Singles – Round Robin –  Centre Court (from 17.00hrs)

1. Caroline Wozniacki vs. Victoria Azarenka
2. Dinara Safina vs. Jelena Jankovic
3. Serena Williams vs. Venus Williams
Latest Results – Tuesday, October 27, 2009
Singles – Round Robin
WHITE GROUP
(6) Victoria Azarenka d. (8) Jelena Jankovic (SRB) 62 63
MAROON GROUP
(3) Elena Dementieva (RUS) d. (7) Venus Williams (USA) 36 76(6) 62
(2) Serena Williams d. (3) Svetlana Kuznetsova (RUS) 76(6) 75
ROUND ROBIN GROUP STANDINGS
(match won/lost : set won/lost)
White Group
1. Victoria Azarenka (1-0 : 2-0)
2. Dinara Safina (0-0 : 0-0)
2. Caroline Wozniacki (0-0 : 0-0)
4. Jelena Jankovic (0-1 : 0-2)
Maroon Group
1. Serena Williams (1-0 : 2-0)
2. Elena Dementieva (1-0 : 2-1)
3. Venus Williams (0-1 : 1-2)
4. Svetlana Kuznetsova (0-1 : 0-2)
Victoria Azarenka made a successful tournament debut by defeating Jelena Jankovic 6-2, 6-3. “I’m glad she gave me the match, and she was not in the mood,” Azarenka said. “It worked out pretty well for me.”

Victoria Azarenka made a successful tournament debut by defeating Jelena Jankovic 6-2, 6-3. “I’m glad she gave me the match, and she was not in the mood,” Azarenka said. “It worked out pretty well for me.”

Doha - Jelena 102709

“I basically gave her everything. I beat myself,” Jankovic said. “I just was trying to get in the match, get my rhythm. But unfortunately, that never happened. I was really a shadow of myself.”

Doha - Elena 102709
Elena Dementieva rallied from a set and a break down to beat defending champion Venus Williams 3-6, 7-6 (6), 6-2.
Doha - Venus 102709
“She hung around and stayed in there,” Venus Williams said. “She kept the ball in the court and did really well. I didn’t put the ball in the court, and that didn’t help.”
Serena Williams overcame Svetlana Kuznetsova 7-6 (6), 7-5.
Serena Williams overcame Svetlana Kuznetsova 7-6 (6), 7-5.
Doha - Kutznetova 102709

"I think Serena played a good match," Kuznetsova said. "Compared to my other matches at the Championships, this was the best I played. I think her serve helped her win the match and I was a bit unlucky on a few points, but still it was a good match. I hope to do better in the next ones."

102709 / SonyEricssonChampionship-Doha

Leave a Reply

