Clijsters Confirms August Return, first stop at Cincinnati

clijster-return032709Former world No.1 Kim Clijsters of Belgium on Thursday announced her return to competitive tennis almost two years after retiring from the sport at just 23 years old.

“I intend to play in the US Open and almost certainly in the tournaments at Cincinnati (early August)- my first official tournament back – and Tornoto,” she told a press conference in her hometown.

“I have been practicing on a regular basis with my training partner Wim Fissette and by physical coach Sam Verslegers, sometimes as much as six hours a day.

The right-hander, famous for her trademark splits defensive play, won 34 WTA tournaments and 11 doubles’ crowns, including the 2005 US Open title when she defeated French player Mary Pierce 6-3, 6-1 at Flushing Meadows.

She also won the 2002 and 2003 women’s season-ending tour championship title.

What happens after Flushing Meadows in early September, however, depends on several factors, she insisted.

“I will have to take stock of how I manage to combine my family situation with life on the circuit – I am a mother and a wife after all,” she said. “Also we will have to see how I come out of it all physically.”

032709 / Source YahooNews

Leave a Reply

