Serena win Aussie titles, return to no. 1

serena-dinara-0131-finals

No. 2 seed Serena Williams blitzed the No. 3 seed Dinara Safina 6-0 6-3 in under an hour, smacking 23 winners and four aces while committing just seven unforced errors.
serena-dinara-0131-finals-tropies
“I wanted to get to 10 [Grand Slam singles titles] … You never know what happens in life. I feel like, you know, opportunities sometimes don’t present themselves twice … But I felt like this was my chance to take it and run with it.”

“I actually forgot until the end when I was saying ‘hi’ to my box. They’re like, ‘Hey, you’re No. 1. I was like, Oh, yeah’,” she said.

“I always believe I’m the best, whether I’m No. 1 or whether I’m (number) 100. [But] just having that extra bonus is pretty cool.”

Quick facts
The first set lasted 22 minutes, with Safina winning just eight points
Williams won 95 per cent of points when she landed her first serve (20-for-21)
Safina had 21 unforced errors, while Williams had seven
The Russian won just seven of 37 points on the Williams serve
Williams converted five of six break point opportunities

013109 saturday/info-photo via Australian Open / Getty Images

Leave a Reply

