Moorilla Hobart update Jan 12 – Seeds fall at Moorilla

Top seed Flavia Pennetta has taken a straight sets victory over Israel’s Shahar Peer in the first night match at the Moorilla Hobart International.

“I’m very happy, I was a little nervous near the end. We both play very well,” Pennetta said.

“It was tough to play Shahar; we are good friends and practice a lot together so it was tough to out there.”

In the doubles, Sania Mirza and Francesca Schiavone defeated Liga Dekmeijere and Ipek Senoglu, 7-6(7) 6-4.

Seeds fall at Moorilla Hobart International

Urszula Radwanska, ranked 126, defeated world No.30 Francesca Schiavone during qualifying, and today came from a set down to take the match against world No.33 Wozniak.

“(It was an) incredibly tough match, I am very happy I won … it was a really good match,” Radwanska said.

“I just played my game; I think she became a little bit nervous (in the second set). I am really happy, really exhausted.”

No.3 seed, Anna Chakvetadze (RUS), went down to Carla Suarez Navarro (ESP) in a three set thriller on Centre Court. 7-6(5) 1-6 7-5.

“I play very good, a good first set, the second not so good, but I played very good in the third,” Suarez Navarro said.

Agnes Szavay, the No.5 seed, was overpowered by Anne Keothavong (GBR) in straight sets, 6-3 7-5.

011209 monday Moorilla Hobart International

Leave a Reply

