Sharapova withdraws from australian open

Maria Sharapova won’t defend her Title at Australian Open,

check what she say on her site

“I am very sorry to announce that I am not going to be able to defend my title at this year’s Australian Open,” Sharapova explained. “My shoulder is doing great, but I just started training a few weeks ago and I am just not near the level I need to be to compete at the highest levels.”

Sharapova dominated the Grand Slam of Asia Pacific in 2008 producing some of the best tennis of her career, not dropping a single set on the way to her third Grand Slam.

“The Australian Open is one of my favorite tournaments, they have the best fans in the world and I am going to miss everything about the tournament. I promise I will see everyone next year,” she said.

Sharapova went on to win her first 18 matches of the season and went on to reclaim her world No.1 ranking in May. A nagging shoulder injury hampered her progress in the second half of the year, forced her out of the Olympics and the US Open and ending her season. The last match she played for the year was in Montreal in August.

Tournament Director Craig Tiley said he was disappointed for Sharapova because he knows how hard she has been working since the injury and how much she wanted to defend her crown.

“She played some amazing tennis on Rod Laver Arena last year and has a massive legion of fans in Australia. I know she has been working around the clock to try and get back from the shoulder injury. In the end time beat her this year.”

“We wish her well with her return to tennis and look forward to seeing her back in Melbourne next year,” Tiley said. “Maria is always welcome here.”

Leave a Reply

