Ana Ivanovic out in brisbane

Ana Ivanovic has denied her Australian Open campaign is in disarray after being wiped off Pat Rafter Arena by an evergreen Amelie Mauresmo.

Ivanovic bombed out of the Brisbane International meekly with a 6-3 6-2 upset loss to 29-year-old Mauresmo on Thursday.

The world No.5 was expected to sweep past the Frenchwoman, who had made tough work of her first two clashes against Jelena Dokic and compatriot Julie Coin, but it was Mauresmo who shone in the 67-minute quarterfinal.

Ivanovic struggled for rhythm throughout and was terribly shaky on serve, failing to hold five of her last six service games after leading 3-2 in the first set.

“I was pretty happy with my first two matches,” she said. “I played really well the first one and [against Vinci Wednesday night] I dug really deep and it gave me a lot of confidence.

“I didn’t have much time to recover … and I didn’t have the energy to dig deep again.

“In Melbourne I’m going to be practicing and playing lots of sparring.

“I just have to get more consistent and work more on my serve.”

Leave a Reply

