Rafael Nadal and Jelena Jankovic earns ITF honor

“Rafael Nadal and Jelena Jankovic both enjoyed breakthrough years in 2008,” ITF President Francesco Ricci Bitti said. “Both players are excellent ambassadors for their countries, for whom they have achieved considerable success both as individuals and in the ITF team competitions.”

“It has been an incredible year for me and I will never forget all that’s happened,” Nadal said. “To finish the year ranked No. 1 was really special. At the same time I was proud to win the Olympic gold medal, and help Spain regain the Davis Cup. It has been a wonderful year for Spanish sport, and I am happy to have been part of it.”

“I am very proud of myself for all I have accomplished in 2008 and am delighted to be named ITF World Champion,” Jankovic said. “I worked really hard this year and to finish No.1 is where I want to be and where I want to stay. It was also an honour to represent Serbia in the Beijing Olympics and I hope I can achieve further success for my country in Fed Cup.”

For complete article see TennisWeek
Leave a Reply

